Deadline nears for annual philanthropy awards

Thursday, August 9, 2018

It’s the time of the year that we celebrate the best of the best in philanthropy. The four annual philanthropy awards applaud those who are moving the field forward and getting work done in innovative and impactful ways to improve our communities across Ohio. The awards recognize an emerging leader; an innovator; a diversity, equity, and inclusion champion and a lifetime achiever in philanthropy.

Now is the time to nominate an individual or organization who fits the criteria for the four awards. To enter, complete the nomination form, write a letter describing the nominee’s exemplary contributions and submit any supplemental materials that support your nomination. Contact Claudia Herrold with questions and submit your nominations to her no later than August 17.

Ohio Philanthropy Award nominees should have made outstanding contributions to philanthropy by demonstrating long-standing leadership in advancing philanthropy, creativity in responding to societal problems and significant positive impact on philanthropy. This is the lifetime achievement in philanthropy award.

Past winners include: Hank Doll (2017), George B. Milbourn (2016), Gordon Wean (2015),  Denise San Antonio Zeman (2014), Brian Frederick (2013), George E. Espy (2012 Special Award), John and Annie Glenn (2012), Robert W. Briggs (2011), Shirley Dunlap Bowser (2010), Malvin E. Bank (2009), Dr. Lucille G. Ford (2008), Catherine M. Lewis (2007), Kathryn E. Merchant (2006), Chad P. Wick (2005) and Steven A. Minter (2004).

Emerging Philanthropist Award nominees regardless of age should demonstrate exemplary leadership in advancing philanthropy, engagement beyond a single community, creativity in a philanthropic endeavor/project or significant accomplishment in a short period of time.

Past winners include: Anthony Richardson (2017), Patrick Westerlund and Meredith Wood (2016), Connor Reed Thomas (2015), Andrea Timan (2014) and Cara Dingus Brook (2013).

Michael G. Shinn Award for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion nominees should have made outstanding contributions to philanthropy by building bridges, connecting people dedicated to diversity, equity and inclusion; championing the acceptance, respect and inclusion of all; promoting justice, impartiality and fairness; forging genuine partnerships with diverse communities; and implementing diversity, equity and inclusive practices in organizational operations, grantmaking and other areas.

Michael G. Shinn was the founder of the Shinn Family Foundation and served as secretary of Philanthropy Ohio’s Board of Trustees until his death in March 2015. He chaired the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee, taking on primary responsibility for guiding Philanthropy Ohio’s efforts in that arena.

Past winners include: Treye Johnson (2017), The Community Foundation of Lorain County Board of Trustees (2016) and Kristi Andrasik (2015).

Philanthropy Innovation Award nominees have moved Ohio philanthropy forward through an innovation or implemented an idea that led to positive change in how the philanthropic sector operates, thinks or impacts communities. Types of innovation can include, but are not limited to forming a public/private partnership, implementing a unique grantmaking strategy, leveraging resources, engaging in creative funding or investing strategy or developing a new collaboration.

Past winners include: Don Ambrose (2017), The Ashtabula Foundation (2016), Shiloh Turner (2014), The George Gund Foundation (2013) and The Cleveland Foundation (2013).

The Philanthropy Ohio Board of Trustees, who are not eligible for nomination, will select the winners. We will announce and celebrate the winners at Philanthropy Forward ’18, October 22 – 24 in Columbus. Visit for more information and to download the nomination forms.

Who will you nominate?

Jessica Howard
Manager, Communications & Membership


Blog Author: 
Please log in to add comment.