Who will you nominate?

Monday, July 8, 2019

We’ve just opened nominations for our annual philanthropy awards, celebrating a handful of organizations and individuals who exemplify the best of Ohio philanthropy. The four awards applaud those who are moving the field forward and getting work done in innovative and impactful ways to improve communities across Ohio. The awards recognize an emerging leader; an innovator; a diversity, equity, and inclusion champion; and a lifetime achiever in philanthropy. I always look forward to the nomination deadline, when I can read about the tremendous, diverse work described in the submitted materials that I forward to our Board of Trustees for their decisions, and to recognize the winners at the conference (Philanthropy Forward ’19 in September).

We welcome your nominations of an individual or organization who fits the criteria for the four awards. To enter, complete the nomination form, write a letter describing the nominee’s exemplary contributions and submit any supplemental materials that support your nomination. Contact Jessica Howard with questions and submit your nominations to her no later than August 8.

Ohio Philanthropy Award nominees should have made outstanding contributions to philanthropy by demonstrating long-standing leadership in advancing philanthropy, creativity in responding to societal problems and significant positive impact on philanthropy. This is the lifetime achievement in philanthropy award.

Past winners include: Richard Pogue (2018), Hank Doll (2017), George B. Milbourn (2016), Gordon Wean (2015), Denise San Antonio Zeman (2014), Brian Frederick (2013), George E. Espy (2012 Special Award), John and Annie Glenn (2012), Robert W. Briggs (2011), Shirley Dunlap Bowser (2010), Malvin E. Bank (2009), Dr. Lucille G. Ford (2008), Catherine M. Lewis (2007), Kathryn E. Merchant (2006), Chad P. Wick (2005) and Steven A. Minter (2004).

Emerging Philanthropist Award nominees regardless of age should demonstrate exemplary leadership in advancing philanthropy, engagement beyond a single community, creativity in a philanthropic endeavor/project or significant accomplishment in a short period of time.

Past winners include: Dan Cohn (2018), Anthony Richardson (2017), Patrick Westerlund and Meredith Wood (2016), Connor Reed Thomas (2015), Andrea Timan (2014) and Cara Dingus Brook (2013).

Michael G. Shinn Award for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Philanthropy nominees should have made outstanding contributions to philanthropy by building bridges, connecting people dedicated to diversity, equity and inclusion; championing the acceptance, respect and inclusion of all; promoting justice, impartiality and fairness; forging genuine partnerships with diverse communities; and implementing diversity, equity and inclusive practices in organizational operations, grantmaking and other areas.

Michael G. Shinn was the founder of the Shinn Family Foundation and served as secretary of Philanthropy Ohio’s Board of Trustees until his death in March 2015. He chaired the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee, taking on primary responsibility for guiding Philanthropy Ohio’s efforts in that arena. Past winners include: Donna and Larry James (2018), Treye Johnson (2017), The Community Foundation of Lorain County Board of Trustees (2016) and Kristi Andrasik (2015).

Philanthropy Innovation Award nominees have moved Ohio philanthropy forward through an innovation or implemented an idea that led to positive change in how the philanthropic sector operates, thinks or impacts communities. Types of innovation can include, but are not limited to forming a public/private partnership, implementing a unique grantmaking strategy, leveraging resources, engaging in creative funding or investing strategy or developing a new collaboration.

Past winners include: Gary Cates (2018), Don Ambrose (2017), The Ashtabula Foundation (2016), Shiloh Turner (2014), The George Gund Foundation (2013) and The Cleveland Foundation (2013).

The Philanthropy Ohio Board of Trustees, who are not eligible for nomination, will select the winners. We will announce and celebrate the winners at Philanthropy Forward ’19, September 25 – 27 in Cincinnati. Visit www.philanthropyohio.org/awards for more information and to download the nomination forms.

Who will you nominate?





News type: 
Blog Author: 
Please log in to add comment.